The Fans Will Help Decide – GO VOTE!


How Your Vote Helps

The Pro Wake Tour tested a fan voting component concept for the 2020 Pro Wake Tour Qualifier last week. The results: It worked … and it made a tangible difference in the final placements of the riders and in cases, who advanced to the first main event. 

The results of the first PWT Digital Qualifier dictated which riders get to compete in the first Digital PWT event next week. All of the riders are used to being judged by professional judges, but adding a fan vote element added another element to the event which effectively engaged more viewers and impacted the results.

The reality is that the fans controlled 25% of each riders’ total score, and love it or hate it, many places changed because of those votes. The fan vote is the last to be added into the judging total after the industry judges have submitted their scores, so the fans can act as the swing vote for a rider if their fan votes are really strong, or in some cases really weak. Between wakeboarding and wakesurfing we received over 5,000 votes from all over the world. 

Whether you think fans have enough skill and lack of bias that it takes to judge accurately or if this just makes part of the scoring a popularity contest, either way, it’s imperative that the athletes get their fans excited to go and vote for the best lines.

“Honestly, there is a bit of a popularity contest element in this, the more followers a rider has, the more people they can compel to go vote for them. That is also why we set it up so that 75% of the riders’ scores are based on the expert judges. All said, it was a definite factor and the riders and their supporters should consider that as they plan their strategy for each event.” Bill McCaffray from Alliance Wake.

Monday, June 15th the official first digital event for the Pro Wake Tour launches at so you have your opportunity to go and support the best riders. 

GO VOTE![/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_single_image image=\”1489\” img_size=\”medium\”][vc_column_text]Guenther Oka[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]2020 Supra Pro Wakeboard Tour Digital Event #1 Qualified Athletes[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=\”1/2\”][vc_column_text]

  1. Nic Rapa
  2. Cory Teunissen
  3. Tony Iacconi
  4. Shota Tezuka
  5. Tyler Higham
  6. Sam Brown
  7. Noah Flegel
  8. Fynn Bullock-Womble

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=\”1/2\”][vc_column_text]9. Jake Pelot
10. Guenther Oka
11. Lorenzo Soprani
12. Tony Carroll
13. Jake Hill
14. Billy Allen
15. Bryson Hancock
16. Vinny Knapp
[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_empty_space height=\”25px\”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_single_image image=\”1485\” img_size=\”medium\” add_caption=\”yes\”][vc_column_text]Parker Payne[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]2020 Supra Pro Wakesurf Tour Digital Event #1 Qualified Athletes[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=\”1/2\”][vc_column_text]

  1. Sean Silveira
  2. Parker Payne
  3. Noah Flegel
  4. Connor Burns
  5. Camron Swanson
  6. Jodi Grasman

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=\”1/2\”][vc_column_text]9. Keenan Flegel
10. Taylor Swanson
11. John Akerman
12. Beaux Wildman
13. Tyler Stewart
14. Chad Carlson
[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_empty_space height=\”25px\”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Heat draws for the first digital stop of the 2020 Pro Wake Tour

Wakeboarding Semifinals[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=\”1/2\”][vc_column_text]Heat #1
Jake Hill
Tony Carroll
Tyler Higham
Shota Tezuka
[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]Heat #3
Billy Allen
Lorenzo Soprani
Noah Flegel
Cory Teunissen
[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=\”1/2\”][vc_column_text]Heat #2
Bryson Hancock
Guenther Oka
Sam Brown
Tony Iacconi
[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]Heat #4
Vinny Knapp
Fynn Bullock-Womble
Jake Pelot
Nic Rapa
[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_empty_space height=\”25px\”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Wakesurfing Semifinals[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=\”1/2\”][vc_column_text]Heat #1
John Akerman
Beaux Wildman
Camron Swanson
Noah Flegel
[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]Heat #3
Chad Carlson
Keenan Flegel
Taylor Swanson
Sean Silveira
[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=\”1/2\”][vc_column_text]Heat #2
Tyler Stewart
Jodi Grasman
Connor Burns
Parker Payne

3 thoughts on “The Fans Will Help Decide – GO VOTE!”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *